Posted by: wanderingobruni | September 26, 2008

Fresher’s Week

Ah, to be a young, naïve first year again. Oh, wait… I’m having the chance to do that now! Orientation went off without too much of a hitch. Registration with the school and the library was hardly a hassle for me because I am not enrolling in the school for a bachelors. So in the past couple days I have been finalizing my class schedule and getting to know the neighborhood. On tuesday, Alice (my Belgian flatmate), Alicija (my Polish flatmate), and I went on a lovely bus tour of Central London’s best sites and it got me in a tourist state of mind. So many things to go and see! Unfortunately I also came down with a cold that has been plaguing me all week. I took things easy on Tuesday and Wednesday, but then Thursday Maggie (a SOAS junior year abroad student from Bryn Mawr) and I went to Camden Town for a little “retail therapy”. I bought a new purse, teas, and 100% hemp sneakers.

Camden Town and its Market are really fascinating. I guess you could call it the last major haven for U.K. punks: with underground venues, tattoo and piercing parlors, and goth/punk/alt clothing shoppes dotting the streets. Clothing there is no bargain, though, which seems to be a pattern everywhere in London. But at least in markets I can haggle. 

I have come to know the University of London Union quite well recently and must say I have fallen in love. The place offers so much! Clubs and societies, subsidized food, drinks, and retail stuff, constant events for students of all University of London schools, and an amazing gym. I feel so lucky to be connected to all this, and you all will definitely be hearing more in my blog about ULU.

Tomorrow is the Fresher’s Fayre at SOAS, where we get to be introduced to all the clubs and societies. Alicija, Maggie and I planned to go for the morning then take the tube to the closest IKEA for some kitchen necessities. And then Sunday I get up real early to pick up Emma at Heathrow! Yay! I’m so excited!

Pictures are forthcoming, my camera is just being really annoying now.


Leave a comment

Categories