Posted by: wanderingobruni | March 16, 2009

Countdown to Cairo

Words cannot express how excited I am to go to Egypt on the 27th of this month. Most little kids – their dream jobs are things like being a fireman, veterinarian, astronaut. Well when I was a kid, I wanted to grow up to be an Egyptologist. No joke. I had old Hieroglyph books and dictionaries, watched movies and documentaries on life in Ancient Egypt, and even carried an Ankh around with me (a fact that embarasses me today). At least I can say my interests veered basically around the same continental land mass.

So I leave in less than 2 weeks for Cairo to start an archeological/cultural tour of ancient and modern Egypt. We go from Cairo & Alexandria – Luxor & Aswan – Dahab & the Sinai. The weather there has been absolutely perfect, in the lower-mid 30s °C, which will be such a nice change from all the rain and cloudy days I experience in Foggy London. And 2 days after my return to the UK, I jet off to Barcelona, en Catalania (España) to finally witness for myself the Gaudi architecture and Miró sculptures.

Before my departure I must finish 2 essays and gain significant headway on the third. Fun right? Speaking of which… I’m off to work.


Leave a comment

Categories